Uncategorized

Update! And Eating Vegan in Kaohsiung

My husband and I moved to Taiwan a couple of months ago. I know, crazy right? I am settling in and have a new phone and data now. The first week my phone didn’t work… then I lost that phone. Then I had to wait for a paycheck to buy a phone without a contract. Yes, it was a mess! Anyway, here I am.

  Last weekend my husband and I got on the High Speed Rail (bullet train) pointing towards Kaohsiung. We wanted to get away for his birthday weekend. I scouted the vegan restaurant selection and found a very interesting place called Yesu Vegan. I love the name because ‘su’ means vegan in Mandarin. It is a fun play on words.

   After dropping off our things at our Airbnb, we took the MRT subway system straight there! It is a cozy restaurant with sort of a diner/cafe interior. I ordered a rose almond milk tea and their hot dog. My husband also got the hot dog, an American, and vegan calamari. 

   The rose almond milk tea was an amazing treat. After going without almond milk for almost three months I know I will never take it for granted again. It was also my first milk tea in Taiwan. I was not disappointed. It was so sweet, smooth, and tasted pretty.

This hot dog was literally the best hot dog I have ever had in my entire life! Even non vegans wouldn’t be able to pass up this dog. It was not rubbery and it was fried. The hot dog was resting on a bed of mashed potatoes inside the bun and then topped with ketchup, mustard, and thinly sliced cucucumber! 

  Instead of trying another vegan place, went back again the next day. I also got another hot dog. I do not regret it!

facebook.com/yesuvegan/  

Kaohsiung, Taiwan

Leave a Reply

