vegan

Eat your mushrooms

image

When I was little, I loved mushrooms! Especially the slimy ones from a can. I could not get enough. Unfortunately came a day when I learned that mushrooms were a fungus. The word fungus just made me think of moldy feet. I was disgusted that my mother would even feed me such a thing!

After becoming vegan I learned that mushrooms were an amazing meat substitute and full of heath benefits. Too bad I was still afraid of them. I knew I needed to get over this phobia so I could have this amazing option.

Almost two weeks ago I had the holy shiitake pie at Mellow Mushroom. I dove right in. The pizza had 3 or 4 different types of mushrooms and was delicious! I have had them three times since. I am over the texture and love the flavor.

Mushroom Health Benefits:

🍄 White button mushrooms are full of vitamin D.

🍄 They are also a great source of B vitamins.

🍄 Mushrooms are low in calories.

🍄 Mushrooms provide immune system support.

🍄 Mushroom also protect against cardiovascular disease.

🍄 Mushrooms are antioxidants.

image

I feel pretty dumb for not eating mushrooms until now. But, I will make up for it! I can’t wait to! Sometimes you have to try new foods or get over certain foods to give your body the best fuel. Eat your mushrooms guys!!!

Leave a comment